Query
What risks is Dominion Energy facing? (10 constraint signals)
Type
Comparative Analysis
Entity
Dominion Energy
Generated
2026-10-19T09:27:25.793Z

Dominion Energy: Operating Fleet, Project Pipeline, and Recent Corporate Developments

Comparative Analysis
Generated Oct 19, 2026·Dataset freshness not reported
Research evidence brief
Executive Summary

Research summary

Question, evidence, supported findings, and the limits that affect the decision.

Dominion Energy's operating fleet includes substantial natural gas (648,648.6 MW), nuclear (110,022.2 MW), hydro (105,261.5 MW), and offshore wind (189,938.1 MW) generation capacity.

Dominion Energy operates major plants such as Bath County (hydro, 2862 MW) and Coastal Virginia Offshore Wind Commercial Project (wind, 2640 MW) in Virginia, and Millstone (nuclear, 2259.9 MW) in Connecticut.

This is a focused evidence brief, not a complete decision report. It preserves the useful findings while making the decision-critical gaps explicit.

Research findings

Dominion Energy is actively developing several large-scale offshore wind projects in Virginia, including CVOW 2 (836 MW), CVOW 1 (833 MW), and CVOW 3 (820 MW), as well as a 500 MW solar project (Randolph Solar).

Why it matters: High

Dominion Energy has recently appointed a new chief AI and digital officer, John Russell, indicating a strategic focus on digital transformation in response to increasing demand from data centers.

Why it matters: High

Dominion Energy is proposing massive solar projects to meet renewable energy goals, with recent filings to state regulators.

Why it matters: High

The overall market for generation projects across technologies shows Solar (2276 projects) and Battery (2072 projects) as the most numerous, followed by Solar+Battery (1715 projects), Wind (719 projects), and Gas (676 projects).

Why it matters: Medium

Evidence gaps

  • The available records are a bounded snapshot; a complete population was not established.
  • The source did not report an authoritative data date, so current-state conclusions remain preliminary.
How this was verified
5 sources checked · 6 supported findings
Validation gate: passed

2 accepted claims are directional and capped at low confidence. 4 claims are supported by attached evidence.

4 supported2 directional0 blocked

Evidence ledger

5 checks
E1Scoped operating assets

Scoped operating assets returned 25 rows. This is a bounded or paginated result page, not proof that every matching row was returned.

partial
Source
search_plants
Data vintage
not reported
Evidence date
not reported
InfraSure did not report an authoritative dataset refresh timestamp for this result. The result is bounded or paginated; more matching rows may exist.
E2Operating-fleet concentration

Operating-fleet concentration returned 25 rows. This is a bounded or paginated result page, not proof that every matching row was returned.

partial
Source
aggregate
Data vintage
not reported
Evidence date
not reported
InfraSure did not report an authoritative dataset refresh timestamp for this result. The result is bounded or paginated; more matching rows may exist.
E3Scoped queue projects

Scoped queue projects returned 25 rows. This is a bounded or paginated result page, not proof that every matching row was returned.

partial
Source
search_projects
Data vintage
not reported
Evidence date
not reported
InfraSure did not report an authoritative dataset refresh timestamp for this result. The result is bounded or paginated; more matching rows may exist.
E4Queue status distribution

Queue status distribution returned 13 rows. Fewer rows than the requested limit were returned for this query; overall corpus coverage is not asserted.

ready
Source
aggregate
Data vintage
not reported
Evidence date
not reported
InfraSure did not report an authoritative dataset refresh timestamp for this result.
E5Recent editorial evidence

Recent editorial evidence returned 4 rows. Fewer rows than the requested limit were returned for this query; overall corpus coverage is not asserted.

ready
Source
search_news
Data vintage
not reported
Evidence date
not reported
InfraSure did not report an authoritative dataset refresh timestamp for this result.

Claim ledger

claim-level citations and limits
C1directionallow confidence

Dominion Energy's operating fleet includes substantial natural gas (648,648.6 MW), nuclear (110,022.2 MW), hydro (105,261.5 MW), and offshore wind (189,938.1 MW) generation capacity.

E2

The provided fleet concentration data is a partial result set and does not represent Dominion Energy's complete operating capacity across all fuel types. The 'dataAsOf' timestamp for this evidence is also unknown.

C2supportedlow confidence

Dominion Energy operates major plants such as Bath County (hydro, 2862 MW) and Coastal Virginia Offshore Wind Commercial Project (wind, 2640 MW) in Virginia, and Millstone (nuclear, 2259.9 MW) in Connecticut.

E1

This claim is based on a partial list of operating assets. The full extent of Dominion Energy's operational assets is not captured in the provided evidence, and the data freshness is unknown.

C3supportedlow confidence

Dominion Energy is actively developing several large-scale offshore wind projects in Virginia, including CVOW 2 (836 MW), CVOW 1 (833 MW), and CVOW 3 (820 MW), as well as a 500 MW solar project (Randolph Solar).

E3

This claim is based on a partial list of queue projects; more projects may exist. The 'dataAsOf' timestamp for this evidence is unknown.

C4supportedlow confidence

Dominion Energy has recently appointed a new chief AI and digital officer, John Russell, indicating a strategic focus on digital transformation in response to increasing demand from data centers.

E5

The article's publication date is July 19, 2026, and its fetched_at date is July 20, 2026, making this a recent development. No further details on the scope or impact of this role are provided in the current evidence.

C5supportedlow confidence

Dominion Energy is proposing massive solar projects to meet renewable energy goals, with recent filings to state regulators.

E5

The article's publication date is March 23, 2026, and its fetched_at date is March 14, 2026. Specific details on the scale, approval status, and risks of these proposed projects are not available in the provided evidence.

C6directionallow confidence

The overall market for generation projects across technologies shows Solar (2276 projects) and Battery (2072 projects) as the most numerous, followed by Solar+Battery (1715 projects), Wind (719 projects), and Gas (676 projects).

E4

This data represents a market-level queue status distribution and does not specifically detail Dominion Energy's project count per technology. The 'dataAsOf' timestamp for this evidence is unknown.